2017 Events



close up of the face of a buddha statue

2017 Reading Gender in Chinese Religions

Wednesday, January 25, 2017 - 5:31pm to Saturday, January 28, 2017 - 5:31pm

On Saturday, February 4 to Sunday, February 5, 2017, experts in the fields of Religious studies presented texts which revolve around "body, blood and ritual"-- broadly defined. The purpose of this workshop was to read, translate, and analyze primary texts and discuss different approaches, interpretative strategies and methodologies to further the study of gender and Chinese religions.

Profile photograph of Instructor Yang Yuling.

Dr. YANG Yuling Speaks

Monday, December 5, 2016 - 10:00am to 3:00pm

GW Confucius Institute Instructor, Dr. YANG Yuling gave a talk at Baltimore Chinese School in Maryland about Chinese linguistics.

wine and cheese plate.

GWCI Wine & Cheese Networking Happy Hour

Thursday, December 1, 2016 - 5:00pm to 6:30pm

Come join the GW Confucius Institute for our networking happy hour.

wine and cheese plate.

GWCI Wine & Cheese Networking Happy Hour

Wednesday, November 30, 2016 - 5:00pm to 6:30pm

Come join the GW Confucius Institute for our networking happy hour.

side view of an old film projector

GW CI - Movie Screening: The Eagle Shooting Heroes

Tuesday, November 29, 2016 - 7:45pm to 9:30pm

 

GWCI Wine & Cheese Networking Happy Hour

Tuesday, November 29, 2016 - 5:00pm to 6:30pm

Come join the GW Confucius Institute for our networking happy hour.

GWCI Wine & Cheese Networking Happy Hour

Monday, November 28, 2016 - 5:00pm to 6:30pm

Come join the GW Confucius Institute for our networking happy hour.

China Onscreen Biennial

2016 China Onscreen Biennial

Tuesday, November 15, 2016 - 7:00pm to Thursday, November 17, 2016 - 9:30pm

This three day event will showcase several movies from China's most talented directors. All movies will be shown at the E Street Cinema.

Kunqu Opera

GWCI Cultural Series - Kunqu Performance

Friday, November 11, 2016 - 7:30pm to 9:30pm

On November 11th, the GW Confucius Institute and UMD Confucius Institute will co-host the Wintergreen Kunqu Opera Society from Shanghai, China.

Banner

Ninth Annual Conference on China’s Economic Development and U.S.-China Economic Relations

Friday, November 11, 2016 - 9:00am to 5:00pm

The U.S.-China relationship is now second to none in importance for international economic relations and policy and accordingly is a major focus of IIEP.

Kunqu Opera

GWCI Cultural Series - Kunqu Opera Lecture

Wednesday, November 9, 2016 - 3:45pm to 5:00pm

Combining the art forms of play, opera, ballet, poetry and musical recital, Kunqu opera is one of China's oldest forms of opera, reaching it's peak in the 16th - 18th centuries.

GW CI - Movie Screening: Farewell My Concubine

Monday, November 7, 2016 - 7:45pm to 9:30pm

 

GW CI - Movie Screening: A Chinese Ghost Story

Thursday, October 27, 2016 - 7:45pm to 9:30pm

 

Art of Heart - Exhibition

Friday, October 21, 2016 - 12:00pm to Sunday, October 23, 2016 - 3:00pm

Internationally acclaimed artist, Song Wenjing will present his exhibition "Art of Heart" from Friday, October 21st to Sunday, October 23rd.

Art of Heart - Meet the Artist

Thursday, October 20, 2016 - 5:30pm to 6:30pm

The George Washington University is excited to host internationally acclaimed artist, Song Wenjing to discuss his exhibition "Art of Heart".